Test-of-Time Award Papers

We formed two award committees to select the Test-of-Time awards from 19 papers nominated by area chairs.

  • Expert award committee: consisted of all ACL and NAACL conferences’ general chairs, program chairs and NAACL board chairs between 2013-2018.
  • Community award committee: consisted of all the top 1000 authors ranked by the ACL Anthology Network, based on the number of publications at ACL venues.
  • We define Conflict-of-Interests (COI) as “authored a nominated paper, or co-authored with any of the nominated paper authors between 2013-2018, or nominated a paper as NAACL-HLT 2018 area chairs“. We excluded any members who have any COIs with any of the nominated papers from these two committees.

Each committee member was asked to select three papers for the award. The following three papers have been selected for the Test-of-Time award. They are ranked at top 2 by the expert award committee and the community award committee. Congratulations to these authors!

Title: BLEU: a Method for Automatic Evaluation of Machine Translation
Authors: Kishore Papineni, Salim Roukos, Todd Ward and Wei-Jing Zhu

Title: Discriminative Training Methods for Hidden Markov Models: Theory and Experiments with Perceptron Algorithms
Author: Michael Collins

Title: Thumbs up?: Sentiment Classification using Machine Learning Techniques
Authors: Bo Pang, Lillian Lee, Shivakumar Vaithyanathan

We have invited these authors to give talks about their reflections on the impact of their papers and their visions on future research directions.

The expert award committee consists of:

  • Marilyn Walker (Chair, University of California, Santa Cruz)
  • Antal van den Bosch (Radboud University Nijmegen)
  • Chris Callison-Burch (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Claire Cardie (Cornell University)
  • Joyce Chai (Michigan State University)
  • Walter Daelemans (University of Antwerp)
  • Katrin Erk (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Pascale Fung (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
  • Iryna Gurevych (TU Darmstadt)
  • Katrin Kirchhoff (University of Washington)
  • Yuji Matsumoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Yusuke Miyao (National Institute of Informatics)
  • Alessandro Moschitti (Qatar Computing Research Institute)
  • Massimo Poesio (University of Essex)
  • Owen Rambow (Columbia University)
  • Anoop Sarkar (Simon Fraser University)
  • Amanda Stent (Bloomberg)
  • Michael Strube (Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies)
  • Lucy Vanderwende (Microsoft Research)
  • Hua Wu (Baidu Research)
  • Chengqing Zong (Chinese Academy of Sciences)

3 thoughts on “Test-of-Time Award Papers

  1. Pingback: Google at NAACL

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s