Outstanding Papers

The selection of outstanding papers and best paper includes four steps:

    • Step 1: Area chairs nominated 19 submissions.
    • Step 2: PC chairs selected 9 submissions as candidate outstanding papers.
    • Step 3: We composed an outstanding and best paper award committee that consists of five area chairs who are experts in various areas and don’t have conflict-of-interest with the nominated papers:
      • Joyce Chai (Michigan State University)
      • Michael Collins (Columbia University)
      • Jennifer Foster (Dublin City University)
      • Smaranda Muresan (Columbia University)
      • Joel Tetreault (Chair, Grammarly)
    • Step 4: The award committee selected four outstanding papers, and one of them as the  best paper.


Outstanding Papers:

TitleDeep Contextualized Word Representations
Authors: Matthew Peters, Mark Neumann, Mohit Iyyer, Matt Gardner, Christopher Clark, Kenton Lee and Luke Zettlemoyer

Title: Learning to Map Context-Dependent Sentences to Executable Formal Queries
Authors: Alane Suhr, Srinivasan Iyer and Yoav Artz

TitleNeural Text Generation in Stories using Entity Representations as Context
Authors: Elizabeth Clark, Yangfeng Ji and Noah A. Smith

TitleRecurrent Neural Networks as Weighted Language Recognizers
Authors: Yining Chen, Sorcha Gilroy, Andreas Maletti, Jonathan May and Kevin Knight

Congratulations to these authors! We will announce the best paper at the award session during the final day of the main conference.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s